book making!

27 August 2009

book

embroideredM

Bookmaking: my new LOVE.  This one is of design sketches, made for prospective employers; to show them I am creative, because sometimes words just won’t do.  The cover is a highly textured, and unfortunately discontinued paper (got the last sheet) with my signature embroidered M on one of my favorite patterned fabrics.  The embroidery shows from behind a square window cut into the paper.

All around good.

I sewed the book together (10 pages) with a sewing machine… really pushing the RPMs to the limit.  Atop each sketch is a sheet of vellum (translucent paper) with written descriptions and arrows detailing the drawings beneath.  I opted not to crop out my 50’s formica table.  Love that too.

I plan to make more books.  It’s not only addicting, but therapeutic!  (This is a book I’ve been coveting.  So cool).

Leave a Reply

